Marty Christian



martysblues@gmail.com

Blues artist releases 'Underground Blues' - The Shreveport Times

20/03/2009 08:25

Acoustic blues singer Marty Christian played in bands all over the country and as far away as eastern France before he fell in love with Lafayette six years ago.

"I spent time in Austin and after 10 years I started to really miss the French language, the music and the energy, so I started to sneak into Louisiana listening to zydeco music because that's where I would hear it," he said.

For Christian, that style of music helped carve out his sound. "I found in my music something that incorporates the early acoustic blues in the Delta with, I suppose, a more energetic Chicago electric blues and I try to combine that with acoustic sounds," Christian said. "Zydeco gave me the rhythm to bring all of that together as a solo act."

Christian performs throughout the state and Texas as a solo artist, as well as a sideman for blues piano musician Henry Gray and the Cats.

Blues lovers can check out Christian live tonight when he celebrates the release of his second album, "Underground Blues," at Noble Savage Tavern.

The album includes 10 songs featuring Christian's signature acoustic blues sound, along with fellow musician Andy Cornett on several tracks and one Howlin' Wolf classic.

- Donecia Pea, The Shreveport Times 3/13/09